top of page

Notable SAR Members

Of the Presidents of the United States who lived since the founding of the organization-Sons of the American Revolution in 1889 there are seventeen (17) presidents that have been members of NSSAR and four (4) additional whose ancestry can be traced back to the Revolutionary War and chose not to join the organization.

President                                 Term of Office

Ulysse S. Grant                               18th President

Rutherford B. Hayes                      19th President

Benjamin Harrison                         23rd President 

William McKinley                            25th President

William Howard Taft                      27th President

Warren G. Harding                         29th President

Calvin Coolidge                               30th President

Herbert Hoover                               31st President

Franklin D. Roosevelt                     32nd President

Harry S. Truman                             33rd President

Dwight D. Eisenhower                   34th President

Lyndon B. Johnson                         36th President

Gerald D. "Jerry" Ford                    38th President

James Earl "Jimmy" Carter            39th President

George H. W. Bush                         41st President

George W. Bush                              43 rd President

Grover Cleveland, Richard Nixon, Bill Clinton and Barack Obama all had an ancestor which could be traced to the American Revolution. The only Presidents of the United States which did not have ancestry that could be traced back to the American Revolution since the founding of NSSAR are: Woodrow Wilson, John F. Kennedy, Ronald Regan and Donald Trump.

It should be remembered that there are many other POTHUS that have linage to the American Revolution, however these presidents were in office prior to the founding of SAR in 1889.

Foreign National Leaders

His Royal Majesty Juan Carlos I of Spain

Sir Winston Churchill, Prime Minister of the United Kingdom


Angier Biddle Duke-Ambassador to Denmark

David J. Hill-Ambassador to Germany

John Langeloth Loeb Jr.-Ambassador to Denmark

Horace Porter-Ambassador to France

Henry L. Wilson-Diplomat and Ambassador to Mexico 1990-2013

Supreme Court Justices

William Howard Taft, Chief Justice

Daniel J. Brewer, Associate Justice

There have been 24 United States Senators, ten U.S. House of Representatives, thirty State Governors, multiple military and navel officers, Vice Presidents, and Nobel Peace Prize Recipients that have all belonged to the Sons of the American Revolution.


The National Society, Sons of the American Revolution, founded on April 30, 1876 has members in the United States, Canada, France, Germany, Mexico, Spain, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. The National Headquarters are located in Louisville, Kentucky. The National Society is a congressionally chartered, non-profit 501 (c) (3) corporation. The Society has chapters in all 50 states with over 550 chapters domestically and internationally. The SAR was formally granted its congressional charter by an act of Congress under Title 36 of the United States Code on June 9, 1906 and signed by President Theodore Roosevelt, who was a member at the time. 

bottom of page